Lambert Daniel Kastens | Garnisonskirche . København [Denmark]

web LamKa Gar Ib Rasmussen_Pub dom crop

Photography by Ib Rasmussen
icon_01-40 icon_01-39
icon_01-35 icon_01-37
icon_01-30 icon_01-42
icon_01-26 icon_01-28
icon_01-01 icon_01-24


The Garnisonskirche organ was built in 1724 by Lambert Daniel Kastens. In 1722 the contract was signed for an instrument with two manuals and pedal with a total of 30 stops, which was later updated to include an additional 8 register Rückpostiv. The case features a central area designed following the Arp Schnitger organ facades composition – Kastens studied with Arp Schnitger – and has also a low Brüstwerk designed according to a horizontal composition, linking both Pedal towers. On the top of the main towers there is a clock and two Frederik IV monograms.

In 1860 the organ was completely rebuilt by Knud Olsen and the Rückpositiv case was removed. Later, in the 20th century – in 1923 and 1948 – Starup & Søn proceed to repairs in the organ after a water infiltration and introduced pneumatic action in the organ, while also expanding it to a total of 50 registers.

In 1995 it was decided to rebuild the organ and this task was assigned to Carsten Lund. The new organ was built inside the preserved baroque façade and the Rückpositiv case was rebuilt. Although little is known about the organ color, the case was painted in a marbled red, something which can be aesthetically questionable. The instrumental part, however, was built with a great rigor in terms of historical techniques and instrument compositions. None of Kastens organs survived until the present, so the intervention could just be made in comparison to other period instruments.

Currently the organ has 3 manuals and pedal and features a total of 45 registers.


1724 – organ construction
1995 – organ reconstruction by Carsten Lund

Werck Rückpositiv Brustpositiv Pedal
Quintadena 16′ Principal 8′ Gedact 8′ Principal 16′
Principal 8′ Gedact 8′ Principal 4′ Subbas 16′
Weitpfeife 8′ Quintadena 8′ Rorflöit 4′ Rorquinte 12′
Octava 4′ Octava 4′ Octava 2′ Octava 8′
Spitzflöit 4′ Blockflöit 4′ Sedecima 1′ Gedact 8′
Nasat 3′ Octava 2′ Sesquialtera II Octava 4′
Octava 2′ Gemshorn 2′ Scharff III Nachthorn 2′
Rauschpfeif II Sieflöit 1 1/2′ Hoboy 8′ Rauschpfeif II
Mixtur IV-VI Sesquialtera II Mixtur VI
Cimbel III Scharff IV Posaune 16′
Tromete 8′ Dulcian 16′ Tromete 8′
Vox humana 8′ Tromete 8′ Schalmey 4′
Cornet 2′

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s