Jacob Oertel | St. Martinskirche . Zschopau [Germany]

web JacOe Zsc Organ Index 2 CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 DE crop

Photography by Organ Index
icon_01-40 icon_01-39
icon_01-35 icon_01-37
icon_01-30 icon_01-41
icon_01-27 icon_01-28
icon_01-01 icon_01-23


The Zschopau organ was built in 1755 by Jacob Oertel with the cost of 2550 Taler and had originally 33 stops on two manuals and pedal.

In 1812 Johann Christian Günther replaced Trompete 8’ by Flöte 8’ and some decades later, in 1890, changes were made by Guido Hermann Schäf, mainly in the disposition, changing stops in the three sections (including Pedal).

In the 20th century the organ lost a large part of its sound essence when the front pipes were given during the war in 1917. In 1920 the front pipes were rebuilt with zinc by Hans Mohe.

In 1932 the organ suffered the largest change in its history, with a reconstruction by Andreas Schuster & Sohn that included a completely new windchest and pneumatic traction, controlled from a new detached console. The disposition also had some changes but fortunately part of the pipework was preserved. In 1996 the organ was restored by Georg Wünning, aiming to a reconstruction of the original state. This intervention had a second phase in 2003 with the placement of two remaining registers to complete the 1996 restoration – Principal 16’ (Hauptwerk) and Quintadena 16’ (Oberwerk). It has six wedge bellows and on the top of the central tower there is a coat of arms of the city of Zschopau.


1755 – organ construction
1812 – organ changes by Johann Christian Günther
1890 – organ changes by Guido Hermann Schäf
1920 – organ changes by Hans Mohe
1932 – organ changes by Andreas Schuster & Sohn
1996 – organ restoration by Georg Wünning
2003 – organ restoration (phase 2) by Georg Wünning


Hauptwerk Oberwerk Pedal
Principal 16′ Quintadena 16′ Groß Untersatz 32′
Bordun 16′ Principal 8′ Principal Baß 16′
Principal Octava 8′ Quintadena 8′ Violon Baß 8′
Viola di Gamba 8′ Gedackt 8′ Quint Baß 6′
Rohr Floeth 8′ Unda maris 8′ Octav Baß 4′
Praestanda 4′ Principal Octava 4′ Posaun Baß 16′
Viola d’Amour 4′ Rohr Floeth 4′ Trompet Baß 8′
Quinta 3′ Nasat 3′
Doubletta 2′ Octava 2′
Viola d Tertia 1 3/5′ Tertia 1 3/5′
Mixtur IV Quinta Acuta 1 1/2′
Cimbeln III Flageolet 1′
Cornet V Mixtur III
Trompet 8′ Vox humana 8′

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s